Transcript #pblitchat 5/6 Sept

There are links galore in today’s transcript! We shared our own blogs/websites, industry/agent blogs and all sorts of other cool links. This is one transcript that I’m (@KarenCollum) going to come back to again and again. Enjoy!

KarenCollum cleared the room 5 hours ago

KarenCollum joined the chat 5 hours ago

KarenCollum: Hi everyone. Looking forward to our chat today. See you soon!

KatApel joined the chat 119 minutes ago

KatApel: Hi all! Not long to go now… While you’re waiting, here’s a short link you might enjoy. http://picturebooksonly.wordpress.c…

Ishta joined the chat 113 minutes ago

Ishta: Hi, everyone!

MichelleDEvans joined the chat 112 minutes ago

MichelleDEvans: well hello… looks like my kids are having another day off school…

Nikiofware joined the chat 111 minutes ago

Ishta: @Michelle, what do you mean? Are they sick?

KarenCollum: Hi everyone!

Nikiofware: Hey there! What’s the subject today?

KarenCollum: I’m here…but am still getting lunch organised for the kids.

MichelleDEvans: @Ishta No all well , had a big week… just me having some time out

KarenCollum: @Niki We’re sharing online links and resources – blogs, posts, writers/agents you follow etc

jothompsonillos joined the chat 110 minutes ago

Nikiofware: Alrighty. Hey there Ista! Fancy meeting you here!

Cherylm joined the chat 109 minutes ago

Ishta: Hi Niki!

KarenCollum: Hi @Jo! I had the lovely privilege of meeting Jo for the first time AND being at her book launch :) Huge congrats, Jo!

Cherylm: hello everyone

jothompsonillos: I made it. Exciting news everyone. @KarenCollum won the CYA writing comp

Nikiofware: Awesome! Congrats Jo!

Ishta: @Michelle, do you homeschool? If so, HOW DO YOU DO IT? I tried and failed when my second was born.

KarenCollum: Hi @Michelle, @ Cherylm @Ishta

MichelleDEvans: @Kat @Karen – so cool you guys met :)

KarenCollum: Thanks, @Jo. I still think it’s sinking in…(although is possibly overshadowed by how tired I am! LOL)

Ishta: @Karen, CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!

KatApel: So much excting news after this weekend. We (@Kat @Karen and @Jo) all met for the first time at the CYA (Childrens’ and Young Adults) conference in B’bane where…

MichelleDEvans: @Ishta I’ve been homeschooling 3 years … not doing it very well right now… I’m sure we’ll find our groove again

KarenCollum: Thanks, @Ishta. It’s very exciting :)

MichelleDEvans: YAY CONGRATULATIONS @Karen

kangaroobee joined the chat 107 minutes ago

KatApel: Yes, @Karen won the primary picture book category, and @Jo launched her exquisitely illustrated 1stPB THE GLASSHOUSE.

Nikiofware: Today is my anniversary and hubby & I haven’t had much time together so I won’t be able to hang around long.

Julie Hedlund joined the chat 107 minutes ago

KarenCollum: Happy anniversary @Niki!!

MichelleDEvans: @Niki happy anniversary – go celebrate :)

KatApel: And Jo wrote beautiful message in it for me which I didn’t read until we were coming home, thankyou! xx

kangaroobee: Hi Everyone, Happy Anniversay Niki

KatApel: @Niki – Happy Anniversary! How many?

KarenCollum: And @Kat presented a great workshop for kids called “Rhyming Timing”. She’s a natural in the classroom – the kids loved her!

Julie Hedlund: Congrats to Jo & Karen

KarenCollum: Thanks, @Michelle.

KarenCollum: Hi @Julie & @Kanga

Nikiofware: @Kat Wow, sounds like you guys had a lot to cheer about!

MichelleDEvans: you are so welcome @Karen

kangaroobee: Congratulations Karen that’s awesome

KarenCollum: Oh, before I forget, @RachaelHarrie sends her apologies as she’s in hospital :(

Nikiofware: @Michelle, thanks. I will.

Auntie Flamingo joined the chat 105 minutes ago

KarenCollum: @Kanga yes, awesome is a good word for it!!!

KatApel: You think so, @Karen? That is so lovely to hear. Thanks for sharing. (We talked so much about other things I forgot to ask your impression!)

kangaroobee: Oh no what

jothompsonillos: @KarenCollum It’s a huge achievement. I’m so happy for you.

KarenCollum: Hi @Auntie

Auntie Flamingo: Hey All, just hanging out for a little bit and then I have to go.

kangaroobee: @Karen oh no what happened with Rachael?

KarenCollum: @Kat – @Jo also wrote something lovely in my copy of THE GLASSHOUSE…that she knew I was going to win! LOL

happybluejess joined the chat 105 minutes ago

KatApel: Okay – so I am watching the lovely colourful names roll down the screen and the sidebar.

Ishta: Congrats, @Jo, on the book launch.

KarenCollum: @Kanga not sure – she didn’t say

Auntie Flamingo: Now I can Congrats @Karen “in person” Congratulations on your CYA win!

Ishta: Oh, I hope @Rachael gets better soon.

happybluejess: @Karen Congratulations!

KarenCollum: @Kat The kids loved loved LOVED you! The time went so fast.

KarenCollum: LOL @Auntie – it’s about as ‘in person’ as we’ll get for a while I think!!

Ishta: @Niki, go celebrate; the transcript will be here tomorrow.

KatApel: Hello @; Auntie, Bel, Sylvia, Julie, Bee, Cheryl, Jo, Niki, Michell, Ishta, Jess & Karen!

KarenCollum: The CYA comp is great because it can open up doors. @Jo won the illustration section last year & that’s how she got the contract for THE GLASSHOUSE

Nikiofware: Yeah, I probably will. I think we’re both about to fall asleep. Been a long day.

KarenCollum: That’s right, isn’t it @Jo? (would hate to get my facts mixed up!!)

happybluejess: Hi everyone!

Auntie Flamingo: Hey @Karen if you’re ever planning on being in Southern Ontario Canada let me know.

Sylvia joined the chat 103 minutes ago

jothompsonillos: @julie Hedlund, @Ishta thanks

KarenCollum: OK, enough celebrating for now (Hi @happybluejess!) Let’s get started…

kangaroobee: @Auntie where do you live, I am in Kingsville

Sylvia: hello everyone

Ishta: @Kat, congrats on a good workshop session.

KarenCollum: Our topic today is links, resources and otherwise wonderful online places for picture books writers

Auntie Flamingo: Hi @Kat

happybluejess: @Auntie I’m not Karen, but sometimes I visit family in Guelph or Toronto…

KatApel: @Karen I know the time went fast! If flew for me too!!! :)

KarenCollum: I think we’ll go by category so we can keep a bit of order to the chat (who am I kidding! Us? Orderly? LOl)

Sylvia: @Karen fantastic….well done :))))

Auntie Flamingo: @kangaroobee Hamilton

KarenCollum: So, let’s start off with something close to most of our hearts – do you blog/have a website? If so, share the URL and what you write about :)

Belindastweets joined the chat 102 minutes ago

Julie Hedlund: How about if we start with agents?

KarenCollum: (Thanks, @Sylvia)

jothompsonillos: @Karen Yes I couldn’t believe it when I was offered a contract and now 12 mths later I’m launching it at CYA.

KarenCollum: Hi @Belinda

KatApel: Thanks @Isha and @Niki

kangaroobee: @Auntie next time I go to Niagra then!

Ishta: @Auntie, I’m in Brampton. Sort-of close.

Belindastweets: Hi Everyone!

KarenCollum: @Julie – how about we do agents next? Just didn’t want to run out of time to share all our links at the end :)

KatApel: TOPIC: Sharing Links

Auntie Flamingo: @happy Guelph is about 45 minutes away and Toronto is an hour. I was just at Guelph U for a accessibilty conference in May

Nikiofware: I write about writing. I try to concentrate on things I find might need further explanation. My blog is called THE FRACTURED KEYBOARD and you can find it at http://www.nikischoenfeldt.blog​spot.com.

Julie Hedlund: Sorry – I must have missed what we are dong first??

KatApel: FIRST LINK: Your cyberhome. Your web/blog, etc…

KarenCollum: @Jo You did such a good job at your launch too. I meant to come and look at your portfolio. Process is fascinating!

happybluejess: Lots of Canucks here. (Myself included!) Cool.

Ishta: OKAY! On-topic. I blog: http://www.ishtamercurio.blogsp​ot.com My name – SO original, I know! LOL.

KarenCollum: Oh, and if you include http:// first it will come up as a hyperlink

Julie Hedlund: @Karen got it thanks!

Auntie Flamingo: Hi @Belinda

Nikiofware: I must admit I took the summer off so my blog is in drastic need of a few new articles.

Belindastweets: Hi Karen and Kat and Auntie and Everyone!

KarenCollum: If you’ve already posted your link without http:// just post it again so it comes up pretty blue :)

Auntie Flamingo: @Kangaroobaee I’m an hour from Niagra too

Julie Hedlund: My blog is called Write Up My Life. I write about writing, but also about my life (as the title would imply)…

Belindastweets: opps forgetting the @

KarenCollum: @Julie – I think we wrote at the same time!!

Auntie Flamingo: @ishta yes Brampton is sort of close

KatApel: If you don’t have a blog, you could share links to an interview you may have done on someone else’s blog…

Belindastweets: I had a blog, but did such a poor job with it and it was totally uninteresting that I deleted it. I felt there was no point.

Ishta: The name of my blog is “Musings of a Restless Mind”, and I blog about everything writing-related from PBs up to YA.

Julie Hedlund: the url is http://www.writeupmylife.com.

kangaroobee: @Auntie I feel a get together coming on :)

Nikiofware: http://www.nikischoenfeldt.blogspot…

KarenCollum: @Julie – Yay! a blue one :)

KarenCollum: Excellent – thanks, @Niki

KarenCollum: @Belinda it’s sometimes hard to work out if it’s worthwhile having a blog…but you might find you come back to it.

Julie Hedlund: I can’t wait to follow all of my fellow pblitchatters! Links help to make it easier!

kangaroobee: http://www.kangaroobee.wordpress.com don’t all visit at once you’ll overload my stats lol

Ishta: OH – okay, trying again. http://www.ishtamercurio.blogspot.c…

KatApel: @Niki – I think we all have ‘down times’ on our blogs. Don’t feel bad.

KarenCollum: @Ishta – love the name of your blog – I can relate!

Auntie Flamingo: Let’s see I have this one http://madelinebarr.blogspot.com/

Auntie Flamingo: and this one http://auntieflamingo.blogspot.com/

Auntie Flamingo: I’m focusing more ont he first one though

MichelleDEvans: I’m not blogging as much as I used to…. http://michelledevans.blogspot.com but I’m sure I will again

Ishta: Niki, your blog posts are always great, so don’t feel bad about having to take time off.

KarenCollum: Oh @Auntie – you’re outdoing yourself!

wendy joined the chat 98 minutes ago

happybluejess: I do PB and educational workbooks/curricula. Am trying YA. My site is http://www.jessicaeyoung.com No blog. Twitter and facebook are all I can do!

kangaroobee: @Belinda I felt like that the other day

Nikiofware: My little 1 goes back to school this week. It will feel good to get back to the business of writing instead of just dabbling in it when I find time.

KarenCollum: @happybluejess Good for you for knowing your own limitations. Sometimes good quality less = more

KatApel: Heehee… I have to ask… Who else is/was surprised at hearing @AuntieFlamingo is MadelineBarr. What a classy name! I so love it!!! (As @Auntie knows.)

wendy: Hi! I’m new here. Don’t have a blog yet, but my website is wendylawrence.org.

Auntie Flamingo: Why @Karen…what did I do?

KarenCollum: Here’s the link for Rachael Harrie’s blog: http://rachaelharriechildrensbookauth.blogspot.com/

Nikiofware: @Ishta. Ha ha, thanks.

KarenCollum: Hi @wendy! Weclome

Belindastweets: @Karen, yes. At this point, it wasn’t working for me. I have too much else on.

KarenCollum: @Auntie – you’ve got TWO blos :)

KarenCollum: blogs

wendy: Hi @Karen! Thanks!

kangaroobee: @Niki me too, secretly can’t wait!

KatApel: He Wendy. Great to have you. And will look forward to checking your site out – along with all the other great links!

KarenCollum: @Wendy – if you post your website again with http:// in front it will come up as a hyperlink & make it easy for people to get to

wendy: Got it. http://www.wendylawrence.org

Ishta: @Karen, thanks – I’m an actor too, and I trained in dance as well, so sometimes I post about those things too. Hence the “restless mind” part.

KarenCollum: My website/blog (they are all at the one place) is http://www.karencollum.com.au Sometimes it’s great to have a slightly unusual name – can grab domain names easier!!

KatApel: Of course, you all know that #pblitchat has a blog; http://picturebooksonly.wordpress.c…

Auntie Flamingo: Oh @Karen LOL Ya and I’m volunteering to take care of a third for the Habitat for Humaity I’m volunteering for

KarenCollum: Thanks @Kat for linking to the very first place I should have posted! LOL

KatApel: (And you can FOLLOW @pblitchat on TWITTER, too, btw. I keep forgetting to tell you that.)

KarenCollum: Those of you with blogs, how often do you blog? Do you blog just about writing or other things too?

Auntie Flamingo: Thank you @Kat about my real name. I hope people aren’t too surprised..not sure why they would be LOL

MichelleDEvans: I love twitter for writer friends and writing tools

Nikiofware: This chat room is much easier to follow than on twitter. I always forget the hashtags.

kangaroobee: @Niki I don’t have a hash tag so this way I don’t feel left out

KarenCollum: @Niki LOL glad we’re making life easier #noneedforhashtagshere

Auntie Flamingo: I blog whatever I feel like.

Ishta: HOW OFTEN I BLOG: 5-6 days a week. I found that upping my blogging consistency and having contests raised my follower numbers.

KatApel: For those of you who haven’t found my cyber home, it is; http://katswhiskers.wordpress.com/ and you’re very welcome to drop by. :)

KarenCollum: Wow, @Ishta – I read in an earlier chat how you don’t sleep much – now I know why!!!

Auntie Flamingo: Wow @Ishta good for you!

Julie Hedlund: @Auntie – me too. I’ll probably start doing more writing blog posts now that school is back in session…

Julie Hedlund: Over the summer, a lot of it was vacations and other goings-on.

Nikiofware: I try to blog at least monthly and I blog about anything I think other writers might be interested in. Tips on writing, updates on my book, great books, that kind of stuff.

Julie Hedlund: But I’ll be blogging about the RMC SCBWI conference that’s happening in two weeks!

Auntie Flamingo: I blog a bit then I take a break because life gets busy…they I blog again

jothompsonillos: I’ve been so busy with the book that I haven’t had time to build a site. Not sure where to start?

MichelleDEvans: I blog once a week now – used to blog 4-5 times a week .. about homeschool, writing, flashfiction, family, faith etc

Julie Hedlund: Oh, and I blog at least 2 times a week, but aim for 3-4.

KarenCollum: In a slightly less impressive note (OK, a LOT less impressive) than @Ishta, I try and blog once a week. It’s manageable and I can be fairly consistent.

Nikiofware: @ Ista, that’s the way to do it!

Ishta: @Karen, LOL – I don’t spend too much time on my blog posts – 1/2 an hour or so a day. But I follow and comment on TONS of blogs…

KatApel: @Auntie – Auntie is kinda matronly and flamingo is very sedate/stately – but Madeline is so funky cool. I love it! So – which one are you? :D

Julie Hedlund: I can’t give myself a schedule, because if I did, I know I’d rebel against it :-)

Ishta: Which has led more people to my blog.

kangaroobee: I’ve increased mine to three times a week but only by chance

wendy: Does anyone blog on their own website? As in embedding wordpress as opposed to blogging there directly?

KarenCollum: @Jo – Personally I love the wordpress platform. Easy to use

KarenCollum: @wendy My personal website is designed by a professional web designer using wordpress as the platform. I love it.

Ishta: @Wendy – how monkey-whatsits do you even do that?

MichelleDEvans: I cut back my blog writing – because I feel the need to be polite and read everyone elses as well – which I love but don’t have the time

kangaroobee: @Julie I’m with you on the no scheduling

Auntie Flamingo: LOL @Kat I’m both I guess…depends on the day and what I’m doing. ;)

KarenCollum: Wow, we have some prolific bloggers here! @Ishta – I follow a heap of blogs in Google Reader and try and comment as much as I can.

jothompsonillos: @KarenCollum thanks. your site is great.

Nikiofware: I don’t really get how Google Reader works.

Ishta: I an NOT web-savvy. AT ALL. My hubby and my sister fix all my computer problems. I haven’t been tech-savvy since the 80’s.

KatApel: After much consideration, I’m coming to the conclusion that once a week is a good ratio for me to blog. I blog about life and writing – but not too personally. As in, it’s my life, not my family’s.

KarenCollum: Speaking of which, if you want to keep track of certain blogs I highly recommend Google Reader. Free & easy to use – instantly shows new posts; no internet trawling required

Auntie Flamingo: Can I plug my Habitat Blog?

KarenCollum: Go for it, @Auntie :) Always up for supporting a good cause

Ishta: @Niki – thanks! LOL. It took me a while, but I finally got around to it.

Belindastweets: Definitely @Auntie

wendy: @Karen. Yes, it looks cool, but complicated as I’m not a web designer. @Ishta–if you google it, you’ll find info…

KarenCollum: I blog about all aspects of the writing journey, but I spend a lot of time dealing with the emotional journey I suppose.

KatApel: @Karen I STILL have not discovered why you love Google Reader. It drives me c-razy!!!

Julie Hedlund: Also, the sidebar on my blog includes lots of great resources for writers, if you care to check any of those out.

kangaroobee: I had too many feeds on atom and google reader just cut back and loving it at about thirty or so. Packed in with google alerts too.

KarenCollum: @Kat – really??! What bugs you about Google Reader?

Auntie Flamingo: Ok hang on I have to find it….it’s new

Julie Hedlund: @Karen – I love Google Reader too. I don’t know how I’d remember all those blogs otherwise

Ishta: @Niki, if you have a gmail account, when you log into it, you’ll see “reader” as one of the links along the top of the page on the left…

Belindastweets: http://cbca.org.au/links.htm Here is a link to a great ‘links’ page of the CBCA. Has links for Australian Writers Centers, publishing houses. all sorts of stuff.

MichelleDEvans: I prefer to use my blogger dashboard than google reader

KarenCollum: My website is set up for me as a children’s author but I also blog about writing in general, including my grown-up novels…

KatApel: @karen – I just don’t get it. One day I’ll have to get you to give me screen shots – because I don’t even know if I’m in the same place as you!!!

Sylvia: @Ishta me too….not a techy girl at all….no blog no website……how do you even start a blog???

Ishta: @Niki, click on “reader” and it will show the most recent posts from all the blogs you follow. I like it better than my dashboard because…

KarenCollum: Am thinking I may need to set up a separate blog if I start making inroads into the contemporary Christian market for adults…

Julie Hedlund: QUESTION: Who do you guys feel are the readers of your blogs? I’m just curious because…

Ishta: it shows actual post content, and I don’t have to click to another page to read the posts.

kangaroobee: @Kat I didn’t used to like Google reader but it is great for skimming through uninteresting ones to get to ones that interest you

Julie Hedlund: I’m trying to figure that out myself in order to focus the blog a little more, but I’m not sure how.

KarenCollum: @Kat I’ll take some screenshots for you

Nikiofware: so you don’t get any kind of reminder in your email right? You have to sign onto your google account and look for it?

Julie Hedlund: I have writer readers, and readers who know me and are interested in my life…

KarenCollum: @Julie I find it’s usually the same people commenting for me (and they’re all lovely!)

MichelleDEvans: I’m part of the #fridayflash crew so a lot of other flash readers come by on the weekend

Ishta: @Sylvia: I <3 Google. Blogger is awesome. And easy – they have templates you can use and backgrounds to choose from and everything.

Auntie Flamingo: Ok there is a reason I want to plug this blog: http://cawlocal555socialjustice.blo…

Julie Hedlund: So I’m loath to limit myself in topics, but I also feel sometimes that it costs me readers too.

kangaroobee: @Niki just go on google and type in reader or get it from the drop down menu on google home page

Julie Hedlund: Am I making any sense? I didn’t think so…

KarenCollum: @Julie At the moment I’m focussing on fellow writers as my target but I’m hoping once my book comes out I’m going to shift a little to readers??

Sylvia: @Ishta….thanks:))))

Auntie Flamingo: Once we get the ages of the children of the families we are helping build homes for we are going to have a book drive

KarenCollum: @Julie – yes! You are :) Perfect sense. You need to have a sense of your readership in order to keep them coming bag.

KatApel: @Julie – you always make good sense!

KarenCollum: @Auntie What a wonderful idea!

KarenCollum: OK, so I think everyone’s had a chance to promote their personal websites/blogs. Now onto agent/industry blogs that are must-read…

Julie Hedlund: @Auntie – awesome!

Belindastweets: Not forgetting Mary Kole’s (did I spell that right?) http://www.Kidlit.com always a good, interesting read.

kangaroobee: @karen that’s interesting, I was pitching at readers but since writoncon where an agent said they are impressed if you have writers following you. Easy to separate them from spammers I suppose

KarenCollum: (Oh, and if anyone is looking for a great web designer I highly recommend Jin Wang who designed mine. He’s author Gabrielle Wang’s nephew…

KatApel: Does anyone have a favourite post (or two) on their blog? (You can include your link.)

Auntie Flamingo: SO if anyone wants to donate a book or even a signed book you can check back at this blog (or tweet me) and I’ll let you know the ages of the kids …

Julie Hedlund: It’s kind of hard to target readers when you write PBs – lol!

Auntie Flamingo: …and where to send the book.

Belindastweets: sorry, jumped the gun a bit. have to go soon.

KarenCollum: …and is developing a niche market for creating websites for authors. And he’s reasonably priced :p)

KarenCollum: @Julie Yes – I’m thinking classrooms/teachers might be the target with PBs??

Ishta: @Julie, my followers are mostly writers who follow the same blogs as me, and who came to my blog either after reading my comments…

kangaroobee: @Julie sorry i meant the parents :)

KarenCollum: @Belinda – thanks – she’s awesome.

Julie Hedlund: But I am thinking of how to get more parents to come to my blog once I actually have a book!

KarenCollum: @Ishta Yes, there’s such a reciprocal process in the blogging world. Reading/commenting on someone else’s blog usually results in interest in your own.

Ishta: n other blogs or because I held a contest. Hosting book giveaways gets you more followers who are writers and avid readers.

Auntie Flamingo: If you donate a book I will post your dontation on my two personal blogs.

jothompsonillos: Since I don’t have a website this is where you’ll find me. http://createakidsbook.com.au

MichelleDEvans: @Julie but everyone buys presents for kids :) … your target audience could be widened

KarenCollum: @Ishta You scratch my back, I’ll scratch yours :P

Ishta: @Auntie, COOL!

KatApel: So agree, Julie. My blog doesn’t target the child component of my picture book readers. But I do have a link for kids.

KarenCollum: @Auntie That sounds wonderful. Thanks for sharing

KarenCollum: @Jo I was looking for a link for you for my blog post today! Thanks – will link to that one.

Auntie Flamingo: Ok I’m done with my HFH rant. Thanks for letting me babble on about it here everyone. :)

kangaroobee: http://cba-ramblings.blogspot.com

Belindastweets: http://www.publishers.asn.au/ Here is a link to the home page of The Australian Publishers Association. Full of interesting stuff as well

Ishta: @Karen – yup. If you’re not saying much, not much will happen – I don’t think people will follow if your posts aren’t interesting or well-done. But, yes.

Nikiofware: If any of you are looking for an agent, this is one of my favorites: http://caseylmccormick.blogspot.com/

Julie Hedlund: @MichelleD – very true and good point!

KarenCollum: http://caseylmccormick.blogspot.com/ Ha! @Niki – I just pasted that :)

Belindastweets: Sorry about all the Aussie links for all the chatters over the oceans. :)

kangaroobee: sorry that was Rachelle Gardner’s blog

Ishta: I agree with @Niki – Casey’s blog is amazing!

Auntie Flamingo: Agent links would be great to have. I’m thinking of getting one.

Julie Hedlund: @Karen – Yes, Casey’s site is amazing – her agent profiles are top notch!

KarenCollum: @kanga – I was going to suggest Rachelle’s too – she gives great industry advice.

Auntie Flamingo: @Belinda I love Aussie links LOL

KarenCollum: Nathan Bransford is also good value http://blog.nathanbransford.com/

kangaroobee: @karen you never feel like you’ve wasted time reading her posts

jothompsonillos: We met the lovely Dee at CYA too. This is where you’ll find her. http://deescribe.com.au

MichelleDEvans: @Karen yes nathan’s is great – think it was one of the first I began to follow

KatApel: In terms of agent blogs, I second @Bel. Mary Kole is fantastic. Every contribution she made to writeoncon was awesome. http://www.kidlit.com/

Ishta: I use Casey’s blog as a starting point – @Karen, yup, I use that one, too. But he doesn’t deal at all with PBs. :-(

Julie Hedlund: Author Gail Carson Levine gives such heartfelt and thorough writing advice. She’s so “there” on the page it moves me to near tears sometimes. http://gailcarsonlevine.blogspot.co…

pat joined the chat 81 minutes ago

kangaroobee: @karen that was going to be my next one ;) http://10blockwalk.blogspot.com/

Ishta: You guys know that Mary Kole is doing a webinar later this month?

Belindastweets: http://austlitagentsassoc.com.au/in… Link to the Australian Literary Agents Association website. Not all agents are listed here.

KarenCollum: @Ishta Yes, had heard that – through Writer’s Digest?

pat: I love Mary Kole’s blog, too, as well as Nathan Bransford’s. I find them found full of useful info.

kangaroobee: @Ishta yes thinking of going on that

happybluejess: I love editor Cheryl Klein http://www.cherylklein.com (see her post on making a picture book cookie) Brilliant.

Julie Hedlund: My friend Ingrid Sundberg (YA writer) writes such in-depth summaries of conferences and workshops she goes to…

Julie Hedlund: It makes me think she has a superpower memory: http://ingridsnotes.wordpress.com/

Auntie Flamingo: OK I have to go but I can’t wait to read this transcript later!

KarenCollum: Because I’m nice and love all you #pblitchat people, I’ll list some of the agents that are currently accepting PBs (you can send chocolate later)

Ishta: @Karen, yes. I registered for it already – the automatic critique of up to 300 words of a PB manuscript is worth the $79 price tag…

kangaroobee: Bye @Auntie

KarenCollum: Bye @Auntie! Lovely to see you again

Belindastweets: Bye Auntie. Enjoy your wine. :)

Ishta: PLUS there’s the actual webinar!

happybluejess: And editor Martha Mihalick http://www.marthamihalick.com

KarenCollum: Ooh, thanks @happybluejess Haven’t seen that one before…

Ishta: Bye, @Auntie!

Belindastweets: Oooo @Karen, you are wonderful!

Auntie Flamingo: Oh @Karen mention chocolate…(thinks about staying)…no I have to go

KarenCollum: Ok, here’s the first link: Etta Wilson http://www.booksandsuch.biz/

Auntie Flamingo: @BELINDA Shhh!!!

Ishta: Thanks, @Hapy! I loved Martha’s posts.

jothompsonillos: Dee White can also be found at http://content.boomerangbooks.com.a…

Ishta: On WriteOnCon. (Hit “enter” too soon…)

Belindastweets: @Auntie hee hee

KarenCollum: Kendra Marcus http://www.bookstopliterary.com/

Nikiofware: @Karen That would be great. It is so hard to find an agent for a PB writer!

pat: @Ishta I was thinking of doing that, too. The $79.00 is well worth a critique from Mary.

KarenCollum: Quinlan Lee http://adamsliterary.com/

KatApel: I also love Jody Hedlund’s blog. She writes exquisite posts. Precisely sensitive. (Jody is not our Julie, who also write beautiful blog posts. :P) http://jodyhedlund.blogspot.com/

Julie Hedlund: Just added martha mihalick to google reader!

KarenCollum: Ronnie Herman http://www.hermanagencyinc.com/

KatApel: See you Auntie!

Auntie Flamingo: @Belinda you’re not suppose to let #pblitchaters know I’m leaving them for wine ;)

pat: @Karen Ditto! That would be great.

KarenCollum: (Oooh, yes! Love Martha – want her as a guest on #pblitchat if anyone can help…)

Ishta: @Pat, I queried her and got a form rejection – I’m thinking of sending her that manuscript, since I’d like to know what she feels could be done to improve it.

Auntie Flamingo: bye

kangaroobee: @kat yes I’ve just discovered Jody too, great writing

Auntie Flamingo left the chat 77 minutes ago

Sylvia: @karen….what is your fave chocolate lol

Julie Hedlund: @KatApel Thanks, and you’re right about Jody Hedlund. I love her blog too. Plus she’s from Michigan (which is where I am originally from)

KarenCollum: Steve Malk http://www.writershouse.com/ (Most of these aren’t blogs but agent websites, by the way)

kangaroobee: @Auntie if it makes you feel better I’ve been out for dinner so I’ve already drunk ;)

KarenCollum: Paul Rodeen http://rodeenliterary.com/

Belindastweets: @Auntie, don’t forget to spend some time with hubby #wineguzzle :p

Ishta: @Karen, I thought Steven Malk was open to queries, but not actively building his list?

KarenCollum: Nancy Gallt http://nancygallt.com/

KatApel: @Julie – and you’re not related! (Are you?) Two beautiful J Hedlunds.

KarenCollum: @Ishta – this is just from my August research on QueryTracker. It may or may not be current so check each website :)

Julie Hedlund: @Kat – nope. Not unless her maiden name is Foster – LOL

KarenCollum: Barry Goldblatt http://www.bgliterary.com/

KarenCollum: Jennifer DeChiara http://www.jdlit.com/

KatApel: @Julie – oh yes!!! Silly me. Of course you weren’t always Hedlunds. :O *sheepish kat*

pat: @Ishta, I have trying to decide between two – one’s rhyming and one’s not.

Belindastweets: Wow, @Karen, you are amazing! Thanks so much for all these wonderful links.

KarenCollum: Catt LeBaigue http://www.heacockhill.com/

KarenCollum: Anna Webman http://www.curtisbrown.com/

Nikiofware: @Karen bushel of Godiva Chocolates coming your way.

kangaroobee: @karen I can’t wait to go through these tomorrow

Ishta: @pat, I think – but check her blog and interviews to confirm – that she likes rhyming ones. They’re supposed to be harder to do, so maybe it would be good either way.

KarenCollum: Ethan Ellenberg http://www.ethanellenberg.com/ (Have heard -ve things though so do your research)

pat: @Istha, will do, thanks

KarenCollum: Sara Crowe http://www.harveyklinger.com/ http://www.saracrowe.com

KarenCollum: Jennie Dunham http://www.dunhamlit.com/

Nikiofware: @Ishta who have you heard likes rhyming ones?

KarenCollum: And that’s it :)

Ishta: @Karen and others, I went to the Ethan Ellenberg site and most of his repped books look on the porny side of porny.

KarenCollum: Now, if ANYONE ends up with a contract I expect double chocolate (and my name dropped to said agent) OK? :P

KarenCollum: @Ishta Yes – check the ‘editors and preditors’ list carefully…

kangaroobee: @Karen it’s a deal, muchas gracias

pat: @Karen, wow, thanks, again!

Ishta: @Niki – it was either Mary Kole, or Natalie Fischer… It was during WriteOnCon that I read it, and my brain was melting a little, but Casey’s blog should clarify.

Nikiofware: @Karen, it’s a deal. Thanks so much for sharing.

Julie Hedlund: @Karen If I get a contract I’ll send you a lifetime supply of chocolate :-)

KatApel: Oops! Just got distracted with incoming email. Subject: Your Memory Stick. Had to read THAT – since my memorey stick was lost!!!! Now found. :D

KarenCollum: @Julie LOL You do realise that could cost you your entire advance??!

Julie Hedlund: I had a lot of these names in my spreadsheet already, so I’m going to check it to see if there are any others I know of that are currently taking clients…

Sylvia: @Karen-thankyou….and absolute double the chox :P

happybluejess: Has anyone said http://upstartcrowliterary.com ? Michael Stearns had a fantastic post about repping PBs.

KarenCollum: Well, I figure there’s no point all of us spending hours doing the research. I did it b/c I’m almost ready to submit…

KarenCollum: …but I also firmly believe we’re not in competition with one another. I’m in competition with myself to write the best PBs I possibly can.

KatApel: @Karen you are so lovely sharing all those links. Yay you!!!

MichelleDEvans: ahhh I’ve missed so much … nappy call!

Ishta: @Karen, DEAL! I will send much chocolate, in every form imaginable, and tell said agent that I heard yo uwon this amazing contest…

KarenCollum: Hopefully that will be enough to snag an agent one day!!!

Ishta: :-D

KarenCollum: @Ishta “Amazing contest” should do it nicely :P

KarenCollum: ooh, @happybluejess – Upstart are on my Google REader list. Thanks

Julie Hedlund: Holly McGhee and Emily Van Beek at Pippin Properties http://www.pippinproperties.com

KarenCollum: OK, have we exhausted agents? We’ve also mentioned other writers’ blogs…

Ishta: @Happy, Upstart Crow are closed to submissions until after labor Day. (Tomorrow.)

Belindastweets: http://www.affordablemanuscriptasse… Have just emailed the lovley Sally Odger’s for a ms critique. Looking forward to the reply.

KarenCollum: @Julie Yes – I submitted to them last year (prematurely, I might add :( )

KarenCollum: And just a reminder to really read through the websites carefully on the DAY you’re going to submit. Updates happen all the time.

Julie Hedlund: @happybluejess I follow Upstart, but don’t recall Michael’s post. Any way you could send a link to that post?? :-)

Ishta: @Karen, LOL! Don’t worry about the premature sub – you can re-send if you’ve revised it, I hear. And it was a while ago, no?

KarenCollum: @Belinda – thanks so much for sharing Sally’s link. She’s a hugely successful Aussie PB author who does very affordable crits

jothompsonillos: Fab PB conference for new writers & illustrators http://www.cyaconference.com/

KatApel: HOw about we also have a Top Tips sharing of links…

happybluejess: I think Michael really, really appreciates PBs. http://upstartcrowliterary.com/blog…

KarenCollum: Sally Odgers only charges about $30 for a full crit of a PB. I’ve sent quite a few through to her and highly recommend her services, esp if you’re just starting out.

KatApel: Links that have crystalised your understanding in some form…

kangaroobee: http://www.cbiclubhouse.com

KarenCollum: Also, don’t forget that our very own special guest Tiffany Strelitz Haber http://itsrhymetime.com offers rhyming PB critiques

KarenCollum: @Ishta Yes, will have to go back through & see exactly what it was I subbed!!

Julie Hedlund: Tina Wexler at International Creative Management http://www.icmtalent.com

pat: @karen, thanks for Sally’s link; I’ll check into that for a critique

kangaroobee: http://www.verlakay.com/boards great for asking questions

Julie Hedlund: @Karen – Tiffany has one of my manuscripts as we speak!

KatApel: I know we’ve just done rhyming PBs, but I would still have to say one of THE BEST posts I have ever read on rhyme is from Dori Chaconas: http://www.dorichaconas.com/Icing%2…

KarenCollum: @Julie Yay!

Julie Hedlund: @Karen Do you have a link to Sally Odgers?

kangaroobee: @Kat oh yes I forgot about that, I love that too

happybluejess: @Julie (Sorry – that was the link to Michael’s PB post.)

KarenCollum: @Julie – @Belinda posted it above…before I hijacked her comment LOL http://www.affordablemanuscriptasse…

Ishta: Mark McVeigh (also accepting PBs) gave a shout-out to Emma Dryden’s editorial and critique services http://www.drydenbks.com/home.html

Nikiofware: @Kat I 2nd the Dori Chaconas blog. She really put it out there in layman’s terms so I could understand. VERY HELPFUL!

KarenCollum: @Ishta Mark McVeigh sounded absolutely awesome at WriteOnCon. He and Steve Malk and Mary Kole are at the top of my agent wishlist *sigh*

Nikiofware: OK all, I’m fading fast. You’ve given me lots of great info to go over. Now I must join hubby for the last few minutes of our anniversary. I’ll be looking at transcripts tomorrow! G’nite!

Ishta: Don’t forget Harold Underdown at The Purple Crayon http://www.underdown.org/

KatApel: Oh dear… There are some links I am looking for – can’t find…

pat: @Karen, I agree; Mark McVeigh was one of my favorites

KarenCollum: Also, @Jo is part of the http://createakidsbook.com.au/ team – they offer great online courses etc for PB authors/illustrators. @Jo Can you tell us more??

Ishta: ‘Night, @Niki!

KarenCollum: @Niki enjoy the rest of your anniversary and may there be many more to come :)

MichelleDEvans: enjoy @Niki

kangaroobee: ‘Night @Niki

Nikiofware: @karen, Amen to that!

pat: night Niki

Ishta: @Karen, I really liked Mark when he spoke at an event I went to in Ottawa last year. I’m not sure if he’s a good fit for what I write, but he’s a wonderful person.

KatApel: Night Niki

wendy: I’m so glad I found this group–great stuff! I’m turning in now (2yo will be up EARLY). =) See you next time!

KarenCollum: @Jo and Virginia Lowe offer a comprehensive service for PB authors/illustrators. The website also has a lot of great info.

KatApel: Wendy – so glad you found us too! :) We’ll be here each week.

MichelleDEvans: bye @wendy

KarenCollum: @Wendy Thanks for joining us! See you next time :)

Ishta: bye, @Wendy.

kangaroobee: bye @Wendy

pat: @Wendy; I agree – great group, night Wendy

Julie Hedlund: Sorry – got sidetracked reading the Michael Sterns post. Thanks @jess

KatApel: And @Jo is just the LOVELIEST person. (So is her hubby, btw. They’re both sweeties.)

Julie Hedlund: It’s too long though, so I’ll bookmark it and get back to it!

Julie Hedlund: bye Niki – Happy Anniversary

happybluejess joined the chat 61 minutes ago

KarenCollum: Someone else shared this recently (can’t remember who – @happybluejess?? perhaps) but it’s top 20 of PB agents http://www.suite101.com/content/top…

Ishta: @Karen – if Mary Kole is at the top of your wish list, you should definitely take her webinar.

gracefuldoe joined the chat 60 minutes ago

Julie Hedlund: @Ishta – when is Mary’s webinar again?

happybluejess: Bye, Wendy!

Ishta: Hi @Gracefuldoe.

gracefuldoe: Hi everyone, coming in very late today

jothompsonillos: We, Create a Kid’s book have a pb ecourse, YA ecourse, ms assessment, PB & YA workshops, mentorship etc. love to hear from you.

KarenCollum: @Ishta I kinda have a ‘relationship’ with Mary where I can send her stuff b/c I came 3rd in a query comp she ran last year

happybluejess: Hi, Graceful!

kangaroobee: Hi @gracefuldoe

KatApel: You know… I’m thinking we could almost continue with some more industry links… Because I know there’s heaps more out there. And I know I haven’t shared half of what I’d hoped too. (Busy-ness…)

pat: @Julie; I think it’s the Sept. 23rd; is that right, Ishta?

happybluejess: @Karen Oui, c’est moi!

KarenCollum: @Ishta Let’s just say I’ve let her know I was shortlisted in the recent comps :P But, I know she’s gotta LOVE my work

Ishta: @Julie and @Pat, yes, from 1-2:30 EDT.

KarenCollum: @happybluejess Merci :) (Gr7 French is being stretched)

KarenCollum: @Ishta – What I meant was she’s gotta love my work wholeheartedly before she takes me on. She’s seen some of my stuff and although liked it, didn’t love it :(

kangaroobee: http://ezinearticles.com/?Keeping-Y… just one article but very good

Ishta: @Karen – I know! And she prefers author-illustrators. Stinks for me. But I can still try to learn as much as I can from her.

Belindastweets: Hi @Gracefuldoe, bye @Gracefuldoe, bye everyone. Thanks for the wonderful links. :)

KarenCollum: @Kat Perhaps people could add them to comments??

happybluejess: @Karen Moi, aussi. (Can’t remember a darn thing! Think a field trip to Paris is necessary to refresh memory!)

Julie Hedlund: Here’s one for the Children’s Authors Bootcamp, which I’ve heard great things about: http://www.wemakewriters.com

jothompsonillos: @Kat thanks. Dale, an accountant, hasn’t always been so supportive of my PB work …

KarenCollum: @Ishta I’m noticing that trend a lot. It’s a great time to be an author/illustrator…

Ishta: @Karen – no kidding!

KatApel: @Karen – well – they could. I think it would be great to keep the ball rolling though, since others might have come at this today like me… unprepared. :-\

KarenCollum: Ooh, @Jo – what a comprehensive service you offer!!

kangaroobee: @happybluejess can we all go and call it a pb convention?

pat: @kangaroobee; what a great idea!

happybluejess: @Karen @Ishta Author/illustrators definitely on some agent wish lists.

happybluejess: @kangaroobee I like the way you think!

KarenCollum: @Kat OK – maybe we can have another session in a couple of weeks to give us time to round up some more. I’ve reached the bottom of my barrell :P

jothompsonillos: @Kat … but he was an amazing help at CYA and I’m so glad he was there for the launch.

kangaroobee: @Happy am now dreaming of my days as an au pair walking around Paris

KarenCollum: What sort of blogs/website do you wish you could find but can’t? Just curious :)

KatApel: @Jo – it’s hard for non-writers to understand and fully support. Especiallly hard if it’s your spouse, I think. Because you WANT them to understand and support 150%!

happybluejess: I don’t have her link, but Lisa Wheeler does great PB “bootcamps.” And she may have resources on her site.

jothompsonillos: @Karen do you have angela Sundes link? my internet too slow to call it up!!!!

Julie Hedlund: @Kat – yes, it’s the age-old “when are you going to write books for grown-ups” too

kangaroobee: @Kat I’m so with you on that

KatApel: @Jo – You are so right. He WAS an amazing help. I was gobsmacked that a non-writer hubby could throw himself in so comfortably with all us kooks. (Because I think a few of us were flying high on adrenaline. I was…)

happybluejess: @kangaroobee Nice! My current YA is set partly in Paris. Think I need to “research” it, as I’ve never been!

Ishta: This teen writes YA, but she had a great post on finding an agent the other day – helped me clarify who I should and shouldn’t be querying http://www.emilia-plater.com/2010/0…

Julie Hedlund: Well guys, time to put my sick DD to bed, and myself too (into day 5 of nasty respiratory infection)

Ishta: “Night, @Julie.

Julie Hedlund: Great chat as usual – thanks to everyone for the links!

kangaroobee: @happy perfect I au paired there I’ll show you round

gracefuldoe: @Julie I hope you both feel better soon

kangaroobee: @Julie take care

happybluejess: Night, Julie.

MichelleDEvans: night @julie

Julie Hedlund: Night again everyone!

Julie Hedlund left the chat 53 minutes ago

Ishta: Karen: I’d like to find a website/blog that gives a run-down of editors who handle PBs, and their preferences, and whether their house is open or closed.

happybluejess: @kangaroobee Deal!

jothompsonillos: http://www.buginabook.com/book-revi…

pat: @happybluejess; Lisa’s website is http://www.lisawheelerbooks.com

KarenCollum joined the chat 53 minutes ago

KatApel: @Karen – we can chat about what next for #pblitchat. You’ve reached the bottom of your barrel because you were prepared. I was not. Will I be next week? Ummmm… changing the subject…

KarenCollum: Oops! Clicked the wrong button LOL

KarenCollum: @Jo Angela’s website is http://www.angelasunde.com

KarenCollum: @Julie Hope you feel better soon!

Ishta: @Jo, I understand what you mean. My husband is the breadwinner, and he has the attitude that his work should always come first…

KarenCollum: @Jo You’ll be pleased to know my article “When Writing Doesn’t Matter to Those Who Matter Most” has been accepted by SCBWI :)

happybluejess: @pat Thanks! And thanks, all! Can’t wait to explore all of the links…

Ishta: …which i understand, but still. I need to put the time in if I’m ever going to get anywhere.

jothompsonillos: http://www.alphabetsoup.net.au/

KarenCollum: @Ishta Wouldn’t that be nice!! I’d like a website like that too :) Guess things change so rapidly it would be hard to keep current…

Ishta: @Karen, that sounds like it will be great! And congratulations!

kangaroobee: @karen more congrats, I’d like to read that

MichelleDEvans: thanks for all the great links! I too was unprepared

KatApel: @Rachel I hope you’re up and out of hospital soon! You were so quick on responding to our pic on the blog! Get well. :)

KarenCollum: @Ishta @Kanga Thanks! Not sure when it will be out but it’s the SCBWI Bulletin so will be international Yay!

Ishta: @Karen, SCBWI had a sort-of isting, but I haven’t been able to find it since they re-did their website about a year or so ago.

KatApel: Thankyou @Michelle. So glad I wasn’t the only unprepared one. :)

pat: @Karen, yes congratulations! And thanks for all the helpful info!

KarenCollum: Well, thanks for your input lovely ones!

KarenCollum: Hopefully we can all start following each other’s blogs if we’re not doing so already…

KarenCollum: And continue to build this great PB community.

Ishta: I cannot WAIT for the transcript of this chat. I’ll be going to town.

KarenCollum: Look forward to seeing you all next week :)

kangaroobee: @Karen thanks a lot, yes that would be great

Ishta: @Karen, yes, absolutely!

KarenCollum: @Ishta I’ll post the transcript shortly…but gotta get my kids down for their nap first :)

KatApel: OH!!!! We should have asked for Twitter IDs too. So we can also follow on Twitter!!!! Next week?

pat: Won’t be able to join you next week, but will be back the following Sunday; thanks again!

gracefuldoe: I can’t wait for the transcript either, I’m just sad I missed most of the chat today (we needed food though, so shopping won)

pat left the chat 49 minutes ago

KarenCollum: @Kat yes! Good point. Will add that to the list…

jothompsonillos: http://www.asauthors.org/

kangaroobee: Bye everyone

KarenCollum: @gracefuldoe We missed you! But glad you have food to eat.

Ishta: Yup, next week sounds good. (Although I’m not doing Twitter yet – I plan to, but haven’t been able to fit it in.

KatApel: Thankyou everyone for joining us today. And for sharing your great links. The children’s publishing industry is one big generous family! xx

Ishta: @Graceful, what do you mean, you needed food? The joy of writing isn’t feeding you? LOL!

Sylvia: bye everyone and thankyou sooo much for all the info

KatApel: My Twitter comment was prompted because you can in fact follow @pblitchat online – for tweets and reminders. :)

KarenCollum: @Kat Yes! I agree. There’s no friendlier, more supportive group of people around. They all pay it forward :)

Ishta: Thanks, everyone! This was pretty awesome…

Ishta: :-D

Ishta: Goodnight.

Ishta left the chat 46 minutes ago

jothompsonillos: Internet too slow today. Getting hi speed tomorrow Yay.

KarenCollum: @Jo Yay! So glad :) You’ll be right in the swing of things then…

jothompsonillos: Thanks everyone.

jothompsonillos: @Karen it was taking 2 min to refresh!!!! I missed half the chat!

jothompsonillos: Can’t wait till next week

jothompsonillos left the chat 42 minutes ago

3 thoughts on “Transcript #pblitchat 5/6 Sept

Leave a Reply

